UFC ladder: Flyweights

It’s the UFC’s newest division — for men, anyway — but Dana White and company have snagged a few good contenders, many of them former bantamweights shedding a few more pounds. Still, as of Feb. 13, they only listed 13 fighters.


Updated March 13


Demetrious Johnson (5-2-1 UFC, 7-2-1 Zuffa, 17-2-1 overall): Since losing bantamweight title bout to Dominick Cruz and drawing Ian McCall, Mighty Mouse has beaten McCall, Benavidez (to win inaugural belt) and Dodson (Jan. 26). Injured, out of bout with John Moraga.


John Moraga (2-0 UFC, 13-1 overall): Beat Gomez in UFC debut, extending win streak to six since sole loss to Dodson. Then took care of Cariaso to wrap up the year. DJ injury will leave him waiting.

John Dodson (3-1 UFC, 14-6 overall): TUF bantamweight champion has plenty of flyweight experience and unusual power for the division. DJ (Jan. 26) handed him first loss since 2009, a split-decision barnburner to Pat Runez hailed as a virtual non-Japan flyweight title fight.

Joseph Benavidez (4-1 UFC, 9-3 Zuffa, 17-3 overall): Two title shots in 25-month span, losing both by split decision. Was 5-2 as a WEC bantamweight, with both losses to Cruz. Lost to DJ, beat McCall (Feb. 2). Next: Darren Uyenoyama, April 20


Jussier “Formiga” da Silva (0-1 UFC, 14-2 overall): Lost debut to Dodson (KO-2). Only other loss is to McCall. Half of his wins are by submission.

Chris Cariaso (4-2 UFC, 5-3 Zuffa, 14-4 overall): Strikeforce and WEC vet (4-1 in those promotions, sole loss to Barao) lost contenders’ battle with Moraga.

Ian McCall (0-2-1 UFC, 1-4-1 Zuffa, 11-4-1 overall): Record is deceptive: Fought DJ twice, then Benavidez (Feb. 2). In 2011, beat Formiga in Tachi Palace Fights.


At this point, none who isn’t a contender.


Tim Elliott (1-1 UFC, 9-3-1 overall): Lost debut to Dodson (UD), ending eight-fight win streak that included KO of Jens Pulver. Bounced back with a convincing win in a Fight of the Night over Papazian.

Louis Gaudinot (1-1 UFC, 6-2 overall): TUF bantamweight contender took a terrible beating from Johnny Bedford at finale, then dropped to 125 to beat Lineker.

John Lineker (1-1 UFC, 20-6 overall): Lost to Gaudinot (Sub-2) in debut, then upset Urushitani in Macao.

Darren Uyenoyama (2-0 UFC, 8-3 overall): Beat Kid Yamamoto in debut, beat Phil Harris 11 months later. Next: Joseph Benavidez, April 20


Phil Harris (1-1 UFC, 22-10 overall): Englishman nicknamed “Billy” lost UFC debut to Uyenoyama (Sub-2) then beat Gomez (Feb. 16).


Ulysses Gomez (0-2 UFC, 9-4 overall): Former Tachi Palace champion; also 1-0 in Bellator. Brother Herculez is a forward who has played for U.S. soccer team. Lost to Moraga and Harris (Feb. 16).


Darrell Montague (12-2 overall): Beat Gomez to take Tachi Palace title in 2011; lost it to McCall.

Leave a Reply